Castor, Spindler named to first team All-M-PC

ESCANABA — He may be only a sophomore, but Iron Mountain’s Marcus Johnson showed he could play among the best boys’ basketball players the Mid-Peninsula Conference has to offer.

Johnson, a guard for the Mountaineers, received Player of the Year honors during the annual meeting of the league’s coaches Tuesday.

First-team recipients are Gladstone senior Brad Spindler and junior Reece Castor, Ishpeming senior Hart Holmgren, Negaunee sophomore Jason Waterman and Iron Mountain freshman Foster Wonders.

Second-team selections include Iron Mountain junior Charlie Gerhard, Ishpeming juniors Gavin Sandberg and Darius Yohe, Gwinn juniors Tucker Taylor and Austin Forbes and Westwood senior Dave Delayre.

Castor, Yohe, Gerhardt, Negaunee’s Drew Duchaine and Iron Mountain junior Jaden Vincenzi were named to the all-defensive team.

Honorable mention picks are Negaunee’s Jacob Ennett. Gladstone’s Rudy Peterson and Westwood’s Nathan Beckman.