Bay presents Award for Exemplary Persistence

ESCANABA — Bay College selected recipients for the 2020-2021 Award for Exemplary Persistence which is designed for students who showed motivation and determination in completing their higher education goals, regardless of the barriers along the way. Recipients of the award include the following: Kelsea Ackerman, Willie Allen, Mitchell Bunno, Julia Gudwer, Dakota Hollingshead, Trent Marenger, Riza Mae Pepin, Brianna Peterson, McKayla St Onge, Caleb Walters, and JuliAnn Wickman. These students demonstrated the use of grit to achieve academic success. They are role models to their peers and an inspiration to Bay College faculty and staff.

Kelsea Ackerman, an award recipient who recently earned an Associate in Art Degree from Bay College, said that her biggest struggle was balancing school and being on the Norse basketball team. She added, “My biggest success was bouncing back after a really bad semester. It took a lot of focus, but I got it done. Knowing I had to get good grades to be eligible to play and do my part for the team really helped me get through tough classes and assignments. This award really means a lot to me. It just shows that anyone can go through tough times and come up out of those better than before.”

Amber Kinonen, the Transitional Studies Coordinator at Bay College, said, “Our students often have complicated lives. They are balancing school with other responsibilities, and even hardships, but they still find ways to succeed, and this deserves to be celebrated.”


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today