Lancour earns Great Northern Conference Golfer of the Year honors

Escanaba senior Bryson Lancour follows through on his tee shot on hole No. 1 on May 16, 2024 at Escanaba Country Club. Lancour finished in a three-way tie for first place with a round of +6 (77). ("The Big Dog" Mitch Vosburg/Daily Press)

ESCANABA — Escanaba’s Bryson Lancour will receive his High School diploma on Friday night, but it won’t be the only accolade he accumulates this week.

Lancour earned the right to be the Great Northern Conference boys golf’s Player of the Year for the 2024 season. Lancour accumulated 66 points to obtain the honor.

As a team, the Eskymos finished second with 31 points. Marquette claimed the 2024 boys’ golf GNC title with 32 points. Menominee finished third (16 points), Gladstone finished fourth (15) and Kingsford claimed fifth place (11).

Escanaba’s Graham Johnson and Shane Wallin, as well as Gladstone’s Deegan Miron and Matt Meyer, earned Second-team All-Conference honors.

On the girls side, Escanaba claimed a second-finish with 26 points. Kingsford claimed the 2024 girls title with 30 points. Marquette finished third (26), Menominee was fourth (16) and Gladstone finished fifth (7).

Escanaba’s Kamrie Scott earned First-Team All-GNC honors with 81.5 points. Only Marquette’s Abby Luke, the GNC girls’ golf Player of the Year, had more with 86. Esky’s Sophia Derkos and Maddie Wilson earned second-team honors.

Provided blow if the full list of individual honors:


Player of the Year: Abby Luke, Marquette, 86 points

First Team: Kamrie Scott, Escanaba, 81.5 points; Grace Maki, Kingsford, 78 points; Bryonna Sanders, Kingsford, 67 points; Lexi Marineau, 59.5 points; Mackenzie Doyle, Menominee, 56 points

Second Team: Sophia Derkos, Escanaba, 54 points; Maddy Zeuske, Kingsford, 49.5 points; Roegan Hruska, Marquette, 41 points; Maddie Wilson, Escanaba, 31.5 points; Kylie Smith, Marquette, 31.5 points


Player of the Year: Bryson Lancour, Escanaba, 66 points

First Team: Jack Pond, Marquette, 64.5 points; Boden Moore, Marquette, 63.5 points; Kaleb Chipelewski, 62 points; Easton Aho, Marquette, 53.1 points; Lance Harry, Kingsford, 53 points

Second Team: Graham Johnson, Escanaba, 51.5 points; Shane Walin, Escanaba, 51.5 points; Jonah Slawinski, Menominee, 44.6 points; Deegan Miron, Gladstone, 43.5 points; Keegan Wickstrom, Menominee, 39.5 points; Matt Meyer, Gladstone, 39.5 points


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today