Jets dominate conference honors

Justin St. Ours | Daily Press North Central’s Luke Gorzinski (11) makes a run around the outside against Ontonagon Oct. 8 in Powers.

CRYSTAL FALLS — The top-ranked North Central Jets reaped the benefits of a stellar football season as reflected in balloting during the annual meeting of the Great Lakes Eight Conference, West Division coaches here recently.

To nobody’s surprise, North Central was selected Team of the Year, and Leo Gorzinski was picked Coach of the Year.

Jets’ junior quarterback Luke Gorzinski (37-46 for 664 yards passing, 45 attempts for 799 yards rushing, 26 total touchdowns) was named Offensive Player of the Years, and senior teammate Wyatt Raab (32 tackles, 4 sacks) — described as “the most disruptive defensive lineman in the league” by coach Gorzinski — was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year.

Ontonagon senior Jaden Borseth was a first-team selection at QB.

Those receiving first team at running back are Forest Park junior Sam McKissack and Lake Linden-Hubbell senior Ben Tampas.

Additional first team recipients are Rapid River junior Carter Johnson (Counting two-point conversions, 48 receptions for 842 yards, nine TDs, five two point conversions) and Ontonagon senior Eric Abramson at wide receiver, Stephenson senior Canaan Elson (hybrid), North Central senior Lane Nehring, Forest Park senior Tim Bendick and North Dickinson senior Colt Glasheen (offensive linemen).

First-team defensive selections include Ontonagon junior Mason Totzke, LL-H senior Marcus Sutherland, Nehring (13 tackles, seven for loss, and one sack) and Rapid River senior Damyn Smith (linemen, 47 tackles, three fumble recoveries, forced two fumbles, five sacks, eight tackles for loss), Luke Gorzinski (24 tackles, one sack, one interception, four batted balls), LL-H junior James Milkey and Forest Park senior Tim McKissack (backs), LL-H junior Kirby Koskela (hybrid) and North Central junior Jaden Walters (kicker, five touchbacks, 23-26 on extra points and a 20-yard field goal.).

Norway senior punter Aiden Richards and North Central senior return specialist Alex Naser (eight TDs – three rushing, three receiving, one pick-six, one kick return and three punt returns for scores that were called back) were also selected to the first team.

Second-team offensive picks are Rapid River sophomore QB Blake Lundquist (81-192, 1,292 yards, 15 passing TDs), Ontonagon senior Steve Graff and Norway senior Gabe Hautamaki (running backs), Sutherland and Naser (wide receivers), Stephenson junior Devon Groleau, Koskela and Forest Park junior Will Curtis (linemen), North Central senior Caden Tietz and Groleau (linebackers).

Defensive selections are Rapid River senior Joey Smith, North Dickinson senior Will Smith and Forest Park senior Will Curtis (linebackers), Joey and Will Smith and Forest Park senior Vincent Curtis (linemen and Tietz, Carney-Nadeau senior Peyton Imhoff and Tampas (backs).

Those receiving honorable mention include Forest Park junior Payton Woollard, LL-H sophomore Dan Marcotte, North Central sophomore Max Nason, North Dickinson sophomore Steven Holmes, Norway junior Michael Peterson, Ontonagon senior Luke Strasser, Rapid River senior Mason Lippold and Stephenson senior Niko Gibellina.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today