Four locals honored for boys’ basketball

Brett LaFord

ESCANABA — Four local players were honored in the Detroit Free Press all-state boys basketball awards released Sunday morning. Taking top honors was senior Brett LaFord of Carney-Nadeau, who was selected to the Division 4 second team.

LaFord, an All-U.P. first team selection and the Skyline Central Conference player of the year, averaged 22.7 points and 10.3 rebounds per game this season. He eclipsed the 1,000-point mark in his final season and finished with 1,099 points for his career.

Three other local players were awarded honorable mentions in Division 2. Senior guard Peyton Fedell and junior center Carter Hudson were selected from Escanaba, while Gladstone junior forward Rane Castor also received honors.

Fedell, an All-U.P. Division first team pick and a Great Northern Conference first team selection, averaged 17.2 points, 2.3 rebounds, 1.3 steals and 1.2 assists while shooting 52% from the field this season.

Hudson, who was selected to the GNC second team, averaged 14.6 points, 8.2 rebounds and 2.5 blocks while shooting 48% from the field.

Rane Castor

Castor, who made GNC first team, Mid-Peninsula Conference second team and All-U.P. second team, averaged 15.1 points, 4.5 rebounds and 1.2 assists while shooting 53% from the field.

In other selections around the U.P., Iron Mountain’s Foster Wonders and Marcus Johnson both made the Division 3 first team, while Negaunee’s Jason Waterman and Jakson Sager were awarded honorable mentions.

In Division 4, Ashton Janke of Dollar Bay obtained first team honors while his teammate, Davin Hill, received an honorable mention. Jaden Borseth of Ewen-Trout Creek, Pedro Pardo of Engadine, Zach Gross of Brimley, Anthony Metas of Bessemer and Christian Hocking of Painesdale-Jeffers also received honorable mentions.

Carter Hudson

Peyton Fedell


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)