Norse hand out postseason awards

Courtesy photo Bay College’s Tyler Willette (center) was named the Norse Student-Athlete of the Year at their athletics’ banquet April 30. Pictured on each side of him are Norse sports director Mike Pankow (left) and athletic director Matt Johnson.

ESCANABA — The Bay College Norse announced their postseason awards at their athletics’ banquet April 30.

Tyler Willette of Escanaba was named the Student-Athlete of the Year for 2018-19. The recipient for this award must have a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher, and be successful in their respective sport(s).

A two-year member of the men’s basketball team, Willette started in 28 of 30 games last season. He averaged 9.9 points and 4.3 rebounds during 24.2 minutes per game.

Jordan Kraemer was named the Outstanding Female Athlete of the Year and Alfonzo FIelds was selected the Outstanding Male Athlete of the Year.

Kraemer led the women’s basketball team with 17.2 points and 6.8 rebounds per game. She also led the team with 56 steals and 24.5 minutes per game. On February 13, Kraemer surpassed the 1,000 point plateau in a home win against Gogebic, and ended her two-year career with 1,051 points. She was also selected to the NJCAA All-Region team, along with teammate Paige Welch of Bark River-Harris.

Fields started in 29 of 30 games for the men’s basketball team, and led them with 12.6 points and 6.1 rebounds per game. He also had 48 steals and was second on the team with 81 assists and a 39.2 three-point percentage. Fields finished his career with 710 points. He was also selected to the All-Region team.

Four Norse cross country members earned Scholar All-American Awards, including Katy Combs of Escanaba, Jody Peters of Gladstone, Steven Magnuson and Lauren Peters. The women’s cross country team was also named a Scholar All-American team with a 3.27 cumulative GPA, which put them in the top 20 in the country.

Tyler Skufca of Escanaba was selected to the All-Region baseball team, while Emily Bruntjens of Escanaba, Kaitlyn Hardwick of Gladstone and Rhiley Hubert of Rapid River represented the Norse on the All-Region softball team.

Each team also selected individuals to be honored based on their performance throughout the year:


Most Valuable Player: Oliver Dunn; Most Valuable Pitcher: Tyler Skufca; Norse Award: Jeff Allen.

Men’s Basketball

Most Valuable Player: Alfonzo Fields; Most Improved Player: Christian Alexander; Norse Award: Tyler Willette; Most Valuable Manager: Curtis Aiken.

Women’s Basketball

Most Valuable Player: Jordan Kraemer; Most Improved Player: Marissa Ackerman; Norse Award: Paige Welch.

Cross Country

Most Valuable Female Runner: Zoie Berg; Most Improved Female Runner: Jody Peters; Most Valuable Male Runner: James Young; Most Improved Male Runner: DeVonte Grier; Norse Award: Steven Magnuson.


Most Valuable Player: Emily Bruntjens; Most Valuable Pitcher: Lexi Winling; Rookie of the Year: Kaitlyn Hardwick; Norse Award: Beth Gannigan.