Isaiah May takes top spot in NLL

ESCANABA — Maplewood Baptist Academy’s Isaiah May was named the 2018-19 Northern Lights Conference Player of the Year by the league’s coaches at their annual meeting Monday.

May, a junior, averaged 16 points, 12.7 rebounds and 2.8 assists per game.

“Isaiah was a key component in Maplewood winning the conference and conference tournament championship,” Maplewood coach Steve May said.

“Maplewood finished the conference (season) undefeated, and overall finished with a 16-4 record. Isaiah was a team leader, and one of our team captains. He led the team in scoring for the third straight year and was also the team’s leading rebounder. Isaiah scored his 1,000th career varsity point during the season. Isaiah also plays football for the Pickford Panthers (co-op with Maplewood) and was named All-U.P. Dream Team and All-State First Team for the Panthers, who finished 12-1 and were state runner-up.”

Joining May on the first team are teammate Garrett Erner, Grand Marais’ Fevzi Benli and Jordan Bugg, and Beaver Island’s John Robert.

Headlining the second team is Hannahville’s Joe Larson. Also making second team are Mackinac Island’s Aaron Riggs, Munising Baptist’s Jaron LaFlamme, Maplewood Baptist’s Micah Bailey and Ojibwe Charter’s Richard Willis.

Earning honorable mention are Hannahville’s Mason Thunder, Beaver Island’s Elisha Richards, Ojibwe Charter’s James Adkins, Mackinac Island’s Gabriel Hepker, Munising Baptist’s Symon Wilson, Grand Marais’ Mark Ward-Harbaum, and Paradise’s Chelsea Blackmon and Jeremy Planck.