Loukus wins POY, two Eskymos earn honorable mention

ESCANABA — Houghton and Calumet were the frontrunners in the Great Lakes Hockey Conference this season and their success was reflected in voting by the league’s coaches during their annual meeting Friday.

Calumet senior forward Brent Loukus was selected Player of the Year after breaking the school’s all-time career points record. Calumet’s Dan Giachino was tabbed Coach of the Year.

Houghton senior defensemen Kevin Bostwick and Justin Norkol were selected to the first team, along with goaltender Jim Pietila. Joining them were Calumet senior forward Sam Erkkila and sophomore forward Tanner Rowe and Hancock sophomore forward Austin Salani.

Second-team picks include Houghton senior forwards Brendan Erickson and P.J. Donnelly, Calumet junior defenseman defenseman Cam Kauppinen, Marquette senior defenseman Thomas Dunleavy and junior forward Gaetanno Cammarata and Kingsford junior goalie Evan Hedtke.

Escanaba senior defenseman Chris Sliva and junior forward Grant Wickham received honorable mention.

Also gaining honorable mention were Calumet’s Dean Loukus, Josh VanDenburg and Alex Studebacker, Houghton’s Ty Halonen, Marquette’s Sean O’Connor and Tyler Bergwall, Hancock’s Bradley Randell and Negaunee’s Nolan Corwin.