Three Gladstone girls named to All-M-PC

ESCANABA — Ishpeming senior Madigan Johns enjoyed a stellar basketball season, enough for her to land Player of the Years honors during the annual meeting of the Mid-Peninsula Conference girls’ coaches Tuesday.

Negaunee seniors Natalie Bartle and Clara Johnson were named to the first team. Joining them are Ishpeming senior Mariah Austin, Iron Mountain junior Riley Poupore and Westwood sophomore Madelyn Koski.

Second-team recipients include Gladstone senior Taylor Hunter, Westwood senior Elizabeth Farley and sophomore Tessa Leece, Ishpeming senior Chloe Sjoholm and Negaunee junior Abby Nelson.

Johnson was selected the league’s Defensive Player of the Year. Joining her on the defensive unit are Bartle, Ishpeming senior Katie Loman, Westwood senior Aidan Reath, Gladstone senior Kaitlyn Hardwick and Gwinn junior Trisha McGuire.

Those receiving honorable mention include Hardwick, Loman, McGuire, Gladstone’s Megan Crow and Gwinn’s Tierra Taylor.