Braves head All-GNC team

Boys basketball

ESCANABA — Co-champion Gladstone heads the All-Great Northern Conference Boys Basketball Team selected Friday in Escanaba.

Brad Spindler was named Player of the Year and Dane Quigley earned Co-Coach of the Year honors with Marquette’s Brad Nelson as both teams shared the league title with 6-2 records.

Spindler, a senior forward, averaged 19.4 points, 8.3 rebounds, 4.6 assists and shot 58 percent from the field.

Escanaba’s Ryan Robinette also was named the Defensive Player of the Year after averaging 4.4 steals and 3.9 rebounds from his point guard position. Offensively, Robinette averaged 21.9 points per game.

Earning First-Team honors were Gladstone’s Reece Castor and Robinette. Castor, the versatile junior, averaged 16.8 points, 5.7 rebounds, 3.9 assists and shot 50 percent from the field.

Second Team selections included Gladstone’s Rudy Peterson and Esky’s Jared Nash. Peterson averaged 13.8 points, while shooting 51 percent from the field and 48 percent from 3-point range. Nash, a junior forward, averaged 13.1 points, nine rebounds and shot 57 percent from the field.

Earning Special Mention were Gladstone’s Jared Ness (6.1 ppg, 2.4 apg) and Esky’s Austin Willette (10.4 ppg), while the Honorable Mention list includes Esky junior Craig Kamin (7.6 ppg, 3.1 agp) and Esky freshman Carter Hudson (10.8 ppg, 3.2 rpg).

2018 All-GNC Team:

Player of the Year: Brad Spindler, Gladstone

Defensive Player of the Year — Ryan Robinette, Escanaba

Co-Coach of the Year — Dane Quigley, Gladstone, and Brad Nelson, Marquette


Reece Castor, Gladstone, Jr.; Ryan Robinette, Escanaba, Sr. Marius Grazulis, Marquette, Jr.; Luke Terrian, Kingsford, Jr.; Trey McFerrin, Marquette, Sr.


Tyler Beauchamp, Kingsford, Jr.; Rudy Peterson, Gladstone, Jr.; Jared Nash, Escanaba, Jr.; Raffy Millado, Marquette, Jr.; Luke Ogea, Marquette, Soph.


Jared Ness, Gladstone, Jr.; Austin Willette, Escanaba, Jr.; Chase Kreski, Kingsford, Sr.; Kyle Anderson, Menominee, Jr.; Ethan Martysz, Marquette, Jr.


Bryce Brazeau, Marquette, Jr.; Kegan Monroe, Menominee, Soph.; Craig Kamin, Escanaba, Jr.; Carter Hudson, Escanaba, Fr.

Varsity winner: Gladstone (6-2) and Marquette (6-2).

JV winner: Escanaba (7-1)

Freshmen winner: Escanaba (8-0)