MHSFCA honors 2 area grid players

ESCANABA — Area players Mike Hall of Bark River-Harris and Ramsey Luft of Superior Central were recently honored as All-State first team selections by the Michigan High School Football Coaches Association.

Hall was named to the Division 8 squad as a defensive lineman and Luft was chosen as an offensive lineman on the Eight-Player team. Both are seniors.

In Division 7, first-team selections were Gwinn junior tight end Tucker Taylor and Westwood senior linebacker Ethan Homola. Westwood junior Sam Giles also earned honorable mention.

Other first-team selections from the Upper Peninsula in Division 8 were Lake Linden-Hubbell senior linebacker Dominic Wagner and Newberry senior specialist George Sevarns.

Other U.P. first team selections in Eight-Player were Forest Park senior running back Connor Bortolini and senior lineman Robert Ponchaud and Stephenson junior wide receiver Montell Glover. Cedarville senior quarterback Trey Norris also was honorable mention in Eight-Player.