Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Affiliates | Home RSS

UPIR: Crazy 88's

Car count of 88 kicks off UPIR season

May 21, 2013
Daily Press

ESCANABA - The 2013 Bays de Noc Convention and Visitors Bureau UPIR race season kicked off Saturday, May 18 with eighty-eight racers ripping up the dirt at the UP State Fairgrounds in Escanaba. Drivers from as far as Eagle River, Wis. and near the Illinois border made the trek to UPIR.

Organizers were pleased with the high car count and fans in attendance. With several other major events taking place in the area, it proved racing ranks as a high priority for racers and fans alike.

In honor of Armed Forces Day, the Marine Corp League Detachment 444 held a military ceremony and the National Anthem was sung by Tracy Laundre. Volunteers of the Upper Peninsula Honor Flight held a successful fundraiser.

Article Photos

The Upper Peninsula International Raceway kicked off its season Saturday. The Raceway honored the men and women who serve in our military on?Armed Forces Day, followed by a night of racing. Pictured, Kyle Johnsen poses with this No. 2 car after winning the Feature race.

Racing resumes on Sunday, June 2 at 1:00 PM EST with the Relay for Life features. Miss Upper Peninsula USA , Kaylyn Kutchie of Ishpeming and Miss Upper Peninsula Teen USA, Iris Robare of Gladstone will be present as honored guests.

Fact Box


Modified Heat 1: 1st Matt Valiquette, 2nd Tyler Winling, 3rd John Osterman

Modified Heat 2: 1st Dale Peterson, 2nd Chris Pepin, 3rd Chip Laskowski

Modified Feature: 1st Chris Pepin, 2nd Matt Valiquette, 3rd Dale Peterson

Street Stocks

Street Stocks Heat: 1st Joe Johnsen, 2nd Eric Mathieson, 3rd Justin Spriks

Street Stock Feature: 1st Paul Wagner, 2nd Zach Wennesheimer, 3rd Ron Borchert

4/6 Cylinder

Heat 1: 1st Jon Barron, 2nd Rob Germain, 3rd Richard Stemick

Heat 2: 1st Matt Johnson, 2nd Sean LaMarche, 3rd Justin Lauscher

Heat 3: 1st Randy DeGrave, 2nd Hunter Way, 3rd Larry Leach Jr.

Last Chance:1st Robby Iverson, 2nd John Bourdeau, 3rd Kim Wycoff, 4th Corey DeGrave

Feature: 1st Kyle Johnsen, 2nd Robby Iverson, 3rd Matt Johnson

650 Micro-Sprints

Heat: 1st Gary Dubord Jr., 2nd Paul Hosking, 3rd Karen Degnan

Feature: 1st Gary Dubord Jr., 2nd Karen Degnan, 3rd Paul Hosking

600 Micro-Sprints

Heat 1: 1st Todd Belanger, 2nd John Mathias, 3rd Gregg Brayak

Heat 2: 1st Steve Miller, 2nd Matt Peterson, 3rd Dillon Hanchek

Feature: 1st Jeff Ives, 2nd Todd Belanger, 3rd Matt Peterson

Junior Micro-Sprints

Heat: 1st Logan Getzloff, 2nd Michael Berube, Jesse James Liss

Feature: 1st Jesse James Liss, 2nd Springer , 3rd Michael Berube



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web