Top Delta-Schoolcraft ISD students get awards

ESCANABA — Cainan Robinson earned career and technical education’s highest award, the Joseph Hampton Achievement Award, at the Intermediate School District’s (ISD) spring awards program. The Hampton award is presented annually to a student who has shown outstanding achievements in their Career and Technical Education (CTE) program. Along with the Hampton award, Cainan was presented a $1,000 Joseph Hampton/Ivan Ryan Scholarship. It was established in honor of Joseph Hampton, the first Director of Career and Technical Education at the ISD, and also recognizes the career of Ivan Ryan as Director of Career and Technical Education. In Schoolcraft County the Hampton Award and Hampton/Ryan scholarship were presented to Dan Phillips.

Robinson is a Gladstone senior, and son of Ronald and Kelly Robinson. His accomplishments in the health occupations program, along with his activities outside of the ISD made him the top choice for the Hampton Award. Robinson completed his Certified Nurse’s Aide Certificate through the health occupations program, and will attend the Bay College nursing program and Bellin College to reach his career goal as nurse practitioner. He is president of his chapter of Health Occupations Students of America, and gained part of his clinical work experience at Christian Park Village. He is in both the National Honor Society and ISD Technical Education Honor Society, and he is a cross country and track competitor. Robinson’s favorite activities have been those where he is able to give back to the community like volunteering with the Salvation Army and his church. It was his passion for helping people that led him to his career choice as a nurse practitioner.

Adrianna Breault, a Rapid River senior, was awarded the Dr. Roger Gustafson Award and $750 scholarship. This award is in memory of Dr. Gustafson who served as ISD director of career and technical education for 34 years. Breault is also in the ISD health occupations program and she completed her Certified Nurse’s Aide Certificate while gaining part of her clinical work experience at OSF St. Francis Hospital and Christian Park Health Care Center. She is active in Key Club, Science Olympiad, National Honor Society, and her church. Adrianna will earn her nursing degree at Bay College before continuing her education at Michigan State University to reach her career goal as a nurse anesthetist.

Each program section selected an outstanding student to be the Student of the Year, and students were interviewed for the Hampton and Gustafson awards. This year’s award selection committee included Tanya Lund and Gary Bjorkquist. Those selected for this honor included:

Casper Norman and Maxwell Scheriff – Automotive Technology

Morgan Dahn and Heavenlee Royer – Careers in Education

Clayton Johnson and Joshua Simmons – Construction Trades

Lauren Buckland, Quincy Potvin, Adrianna Breault, Cainan Robinson – Health Occupations

Michael Groeneveld and Austin Wicklund – Machining Technology

Timothy Skyyta and Derk Oslund – PC Technician

Matthew Clifton – Pre-Engineering

Logan Coolman and Trevor LaChance – Welding Technology

The ISD awards program included the induction of nine new members in Delta County into the ISD Technical Education Honor Society. They join current members, Josh Simmons, Dan Farnsworth, Maxwell Scheriff and Clay Johnson. New members are: Cailin Carignan, Grace Marenger, Lacey Dahl, Nicholas Onate, Savana Kirschner, Cainan Robinson, Cassandra Krenek, Casey Tebo, and Trevor LaChance.

Guest speaker was 2013-2014 welding student, John Soper III, who went on to work in commercial and industrial maintenance as a millwright for Industrial Maintenance Services Inc. He said the next generation needs to be aware of, and consider, career opportunities in the skilled labor trades. He credits his ISD welding training with teaching him the skills he uses to conquer difficult tasks, troubleshoot problems, use technical math and work in the construction field. He also encouraged students to believe in themselves and watch for opportunities that come up along their career pathway.

ISD welding and automotive student, Natasha Smith, was presented with a Breaking Traditions Award from the Michigan Department of Education Office of Career and Technical Education. The award recognizes students who excel in a CTE program that is nontraditional for their gender. She was selected from a field of 77 applicants statewide for the honor.

Natasha completed four years of welding and one year of automotive training at the I.S.D. Along with her award, Natasha was presented with two $250 scholarships funded by the General Federation of Women’s Club (GFWC) and American Association of University Women (AAUW).

$27,325 in scholarships were awarded to students in Delta and Schoolcraft Counties including:

$500 Bay College – Quincy Potvin, Clay Johnson, Stephen Dahl, Austin Wicklund, Jack Lynch, and Grace Marenger in Delta County, and Ariel Cousineau, Megan Boyd, Kyle Taylor and Caitlin Sefcik in Schoolcraft County

$700 U.P. Garden Tractor Pullers Randy Irving – Caitlin Phalen

$700 U.P. Garden Tractor Pullers Delores St. Cyr – Lauren Buckland

$500 I.S.D. Trades and Industry instructors – Maxwell Scheriff and Matthew Clifton

$500 VanAire Inc. Technical Skills – Kyle Taylor (Schoolcraft County), Trevor LaChance, Natasha Smith

$200 T&E Carriage and Bay View Truck & Auto – Dominic Gibbons

$500 Engineered Machined Products – Dominic Gibbons and Michael Groeneveld

$300 Northern Machining and Repair – Dan Farnsworth, Hunter Starnes, Don Calouette, Michael Groeneveld

$500 Sportsmen’s Off Road Vehicle Association (SORVA) – Jack Lynch

$750 Christian Park Health Care Center – Paige Allsworth

$750 Christian Park Village – Cainan Robinson

$750 OSF St. Francis Hospital – Crystal Peterson

$250 Rapid River Relic Riders – Daniel Farnsworth, Caitlin Sefcik (Schoolcraft County)

$500 Kenneth and Patricia Gartland I.S.D. Construction – Cole Kositzky and Clay Johnson

$250 I.S.D. Technical Education Honor Society (funded by MI Assoc of Retired School Personnel) – Clay Johnson

$250 Stewart Manufacturing – Michael Groeneveld and Don Calouette

$500 American Red Cross – Austin Wicklund

$250 Walmart Store – Michael Chenier

$200 Pam Malnar Memorial – Maxwell Scheriff

$500 JM Builder – Austin Wicklund and Josh Simmons

$250 Schoolcraft Memorial Hospital – Mia Hyland and Megan Boyd (Schoolcraft County)

$700 Lorraine Vaughn Memorial – Natasha Joslin (Schoolcraft County)

$500 Student Leadership – Megan Boyd (Schoolcraft County)

$500 Science Technology Engineering Math – Zachary Middaugh (Schoolcraft County)

$50 DSISD Education Association – Cainan Robinson and Daniel Phillips (Schoolcraft County)

$500 Delta Country Trades & Labor – Lauren Buckland and Trevor LaChance

$500 Steven Courier – Jared Kujala

$500 Kenneth and Patricia Gartland – Jared Kujala

$300 Harv Neubauer – Jack Lynch

$725 Mechanical Industry Fund – Thomas Seymour

$250 Healthy Choices (funded by Suicide Prevention Task Force) – Thomas Seymour and Caitlin Phalen

Individuals, groups, and businesses interested in offering a scholarship that would be awarded next spring can call Cathy Knight at (906) 786-9300, ext. 343.